Earthquake!

Today I felt my first earthquake!

I work on the 14th floor of a high rise well dampened building so the shake was quite apparent.  The most similar feeling that I’ve had previously was being on a ferry with the building shaking in a smooth motion.  It was very short and I didn’t feel afraid.  If I had been walking in the street I may not have even felt it.

I’ve already been trained on earthquakes at work and have under my desk a helmet and emergency pack in case of issues.  

A lot of the Japanese people that I have spoken to are worried about the effect that the earthquake and tsunami of 2011 has had on the appeal of Japan to visitors and tourists.  For me this wasn’t part of my decision on whether to come although clearly it is a risk for anyone living here.

 

2 thoughts on “Earthquake!

  1. Are the emergency packs still in small square tins? Probably not… one of my very earliest memories is of an earthquake in our house on Yokohama 🙂

Leave a Reply

