Running

I’ve run a lot of miles in 2014 and moving to Japan hasn’t stopped that. Since I’ve been here I’ve run most days and I’ve joined an international running club – Namban Rengo. Here is an extract from their website:

What does Namban Rengo mean?
Namban-jin was was the word applied to the Portugese sailors who were among the first western people ever to visit Japan. Literally, the term means southern barbarians. Rengo means union, association, etc. It is also used by gangster and biker groups, in which case the meaning is closer to gang. All things considered, a good translation of our club name is The Barbarian Horde.

http://www.namban.org/

They have a really good session on a Wednesday night at a track in Yoyogi Park near Shibuya. I’ve been twice now and it’s great for making me run fast.

After there is bathing in the public baths – a very Japanese and relaxing experience followed by drinks and dinner! I’ve met lots of interesting people from Japan and around the world and look forward to many more sessions with them.

Tonight I entered my first Japanese race. It’s a 10k around the Imperial Palace on the 3rd of May. I’m looking forward to seeing how I well I run this distance after a lot of running this year, I’ll keep you all posted!

One thought on “Running

  1. That sounds very exciting! I am quite jealous! Jantastic is continuing its good work here too, definitely getting a bit speedier 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

