Hyakumeizan – Japan’s 100 Famous Mountains

The 100 famous mountains are to Japan what the Munros are to Scotland – how could I resist (at least a few)!

In 1964, Fukada Kyuya (an alpinist and writer) wrote a book called Hyakumeizan in which he chose his 100 famous mountains of Japan. His idea was that each hiker would chose their own but it didn’t work out that way! On this weekend’s hike while waiting for the bus I talked with someone who proudly told me he had done 78! I don’t think he was impressed by my 1 (Fuji-san). Still this weekend I tripled my total to 3 and am planning further hikes before I leave!

One thought on “Hyakumeizan – Japan’s 100 Famous Mountains

Leave a Reply

