Hokusai Exhibition at Ueno Royal Museum Tokyo

Last weekend right at the end of the time when my parents were still visiting Japan a Typhoon hit Tokyo.  We took advantage of the rain to do an indoor activity and went to visit a fabulous exhibition of Hokusai art from the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston.

http://ukiyoe.exhn.jp/en/index.html

It was incredibly busy – many people had the same idea as us but was brilliant.  It was great to see the works that we are all familiar with but also to see many many more.  I particularly enjoyed the images of people going about their business with many activities going on in a single print.

My Dad bought me the exhibition book as a present for hosting them in Japan, it’s a lovely book and I look forward to it being an influence on my own art.  I’ll remember this exhibition for a long time to come.

Leave a Reply

